Recipe you must try!

Living in Hawaii has many many pluses and not too many negatives. There are so many places to eat, whatever your heart desires we have it, everything except an Olive Garden! I know, scandalous right! Well I was surfing the web as I  often do searching for a great recipe to make up for the fact I can’t just run out and get Olive Garden when I want. Wouldn’t you know that Olive Garden has a recipe on their website for fettuccine Alfredo! I jumped up and down and immediately started on my shopping list. I made it tonight and I was highly impressed!

Here is the recipe:

Prep Time:10 minutes    Cook Time:10 minutes     Serving Size: 6

Ingredients

  1. 1 1/2 cup milk
  2. 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
  3. 1/2 cup imported Parmesan cheese, grated
  4. 1/2 cup imported Romano cheese, grated
  5. 6 egg yolks from fresh jumbo eggs
  6. Salt and black pepper to taste
  7. 3 cups milk
  8. 3 cups heavy cream
  9. 1 cup imported Parmesan cheese, grated
  10. 1 cup imported Romano cheese, grated
  11. 12 egg yolks from fresh jumbo eggs
  12. Salt and black pepper to taste
  13. 4 1/2 cups milk
  14. 4 1/2 cups heavy cream
  15. 1 1/2 cup imported Parmesan cheese, grated
  16. 1 1/2 cup imported Romano cheese, grated
  17. 18 egg yolks from fresh jumbo eggs
  18. Salt and black pepper to taste

Procedures

  1. HEAT milk and cream in a heavy bottom saucepan until it begins to simmer. Turn off heat. Slowly whip in cheese, then remove from heat.
  2. PLACE egg yolks in a separate bowl and slowly whip in a portion of the hot milk and cream mixture. Slowly add egg yolk mixture back into remaining cream mixture. Place back on very low heat and continually stir until simmering. Take sauce off heat so it thickens. (This will increase temperature of egg yolks, known as tempering).
  3. SEASON to taste with salt and black pepper. Serve over your favorite pasta.

www.olivegarden.com

This was pretty easy to make. I had a bit of a problem when it came to getting the cream mixture to simmer. It just didn’t want to so the alfredo didn’t thicken as much as I would have liked. I also think it is missing something. It didn’t taste exactly like Olive Gardens did. I also added some pre-cooked chicken slices from the deli section. It was really good even if it didn’t taste exactly like Olive Gardens. I would make it again, but I think I will add some garlic salt or something.

I don’t know about you, but I love Red Lobsters Cheddar Bay Biscuits! I will go to Red Lobster just for those. Thankfully Oahu does have a Red Lobster, but who needs Red Lobster just for some Cheddar Bay Biscuits when you have this recipe?

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Biscuits:
2 1/2 cups Bisquick
4 Tbsp cold butter
1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
3/4 cup milk
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Butter Glaze:
3 Tbsp butter
1/2 tsp garlic powder
3/4 tsp dried parsley flakes
Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease or line one cookie sheet with parchment; set aside.

Combine Bisquick with cold butter in a medium bowl using a pastry cutter (I just used 2 forks). Don’t worry about mixing too thoroughly; there will be small chunks of butter in the mix about the size of peas. Add cheddar cheese, milk, and garlic powder. Mix by hand until combined, but don’t over mix.

Drop 1/4 cup portions of the dough onto the lightly greased or parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake for 13-15 minutes in preheated oven until the tops of the biscuits begin to turn light brown.

While the biscuits are baking, melt butter is a small bowl in the microwave. Stir in garlic powder and dried parsley flakes. Use a brush to spread the garlic butter over the tops of all the biscuits. Sprinkle a little kosher salt on the freshly coated biscuits. Makes one dozen.

THe Results!

 

 

I didn’t change a thing in this recipe. It was amazing and tasted just like the biscuits and Red Lobster. I can’t wait to make these again and wow others with my cooking skills LOL!

Has anyone else tried these recipe’s? Will you try them? Let me know what you think!!

Aloha and Mahalo

Lacey

2 responses to “Recipe you must try!

    • Thanks mom! Yes I plan to do the crock pot mac n cheese again soon! I want to take pics of it and stuff to share with my followers. If you want I can send you the recipe in the mean time. It is so yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

